History of St Francis NS

St. Francis National School was established in September 2007 with two teachers (Oreena Lawless, Principal and Elaine O’Rourke, Deputy Principal) and 20 pupils on the roll. It was intended to serve the developing end of Blackrock as the existing Parish School was running at capacity with no further room for expansion. The school was established as a Catholic school following consultation with the local community.

Until June 2013 it occupied five prefabs – four classrooms and an office/staffroom on the site of the Community Centre. Work commenced in February 2013 on our permanent building on the Rock Road and we moved in at the end of August 2013.

As of September 2018 there are 9 mainstream classes and 260 children on our roll, including special needs and children from many different cultural backgrounds and nationalities. We have nine full time class teachers: Helena Reynolds, Realtein McCann, Niamh O’Connell (currently on maternity leave), Emma Kellegher, Sarah-Jane Burns, Annie Sweeney, Sarah Gray, Megan Treadwell, Anne Donaghy and Roisin McKevitt.   They are supported by a Special Education Team, headed by our Deputy Principal, Elaine O’Rourke, teachers Helen Clinton and Ciara Whately, and four Special Needs Assistants (SNAs), Suzanne O’Hare, Sarah O’Gradaigh, Lisa Young and Carmel Pinto.

We have a full time Secretary, Brigitte Nelson, a part time office assistant, Emma Louise (TUS), a part time caretaker, Jonathan and part time groundsman, Peter (TUS).

In 2018 we started our second stream and will be introducing a second Junior infants class every year.

Plans are underway for an 8 classroom extension to the existing school building.

School Staff – September 2017